The Institute of Municipal Engineering of Southern Africa (IMESA) and the Consulting Engineers South Africa (CESA) have pleasure in inviting local, provincial and government or semi-government authorities and/or their engineering consultants to submit entries for the 2021 IMESA/CESA EXCELLENCE AWARDS. There is NO CHARGE to enter.

The Excellence Awards recognise outstanding achievements in municipal infrastructure and entries should showcase projects which demonstrate the best of civil engineering as a science and how engineering enhances the lives of the local communities.

DEADLINE for submissions is 16 July 2021.

Entries should showcase projects demonstrating excellence in:

 – Planning and design
 – Construction methods
 – Innovation and originality
 – Meeting social and technical challenges
 – Contributing to the well-being of communities

Projects submitted must be within Southern Africa.

Each project may only be entered in ONE of the below categories. All entries are required to submit TWO identical completed submissions for the adjudication of the project. Please note that projects should NOT be older than 3years and not have been entered or considered in past IMESA/CESA Excellence Awards.

Categories are as follows:

1. Engineering Excellence In Structures & Civils
Projects demonstrating engineering science, use of alternate materials, innovative construction processes, etc

2. Community Upliftment & Job Creation
Projects demonstrating labour intensive construction, skills development, community awareness/participation, etc

3. Environment & Climate Change
Environmental rehabilitation, renewable energy, drought solutions, coastal initiatives for rising sea levels, pollution control, educational /technical initiatives, etc

Entries will be judged by a nominated panel of qualified engineers, each an authority in his / her field, and under the chairmanship of the IMESA and CESA Presidents. It should be noted that the awards recognize the project itself, and not the individuals, firms or organizations involved.

The awards will be presented on Tuesday, 16th November 2021, at the Opening Function of the 84th IMESA Conference in Cape Town at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC). The top 3 entrants in each category will be invited to attend the Excellence Awards, cost of travel and accommodation will be for the entrants own account.

For more information, kindly contact:

Debbie Anderson
031 266 3263